Murder / Homicide
Homicide Defense Attorney
What does this charge mean?
Homicide is causing the death of another person. The type of charge placed against you is based on the accused’s mental state.
Levels of Homicide
There are 6 different levels of homicide in Arkansas, and they range from Negligent Homicide to Capital Murder.
Negligent Homicide is the lowest type of homicide charge, but it should still be handled by a criminal defense attorney. The penalties for this charge depend on whether you receive the felony or misdemeanor version. If you are charged with felony negligent homicide, you can serve 5 to 20 years in prison. However, if you are charged with the misdemeanor version, you will only face up to 1 year in county jail.
Manslaughter cases should always be handled by an Arkansas defense attorney. The penalty for a manslaughter charge is 3 to 10 years in prison. This is a type of homicide, and a felony, and should be treated very seriously.
2nd Degree Murder
2nd Degree Murder can be punished with 6 to 30 years in prison.
1st Degree Murder
1st Degree Murder can be punished with 10 to 40 years or life in prison.
Capital Murder can be punished with either life in prison or the death penalty.
Need Help Fighting an aggravated assault charge?
If you get charged with any type of homicide offense, you should contact an Arkansas homicide defense attorney as fast as possible in order to present your case in the best light. You need a lawyer to review your case to determine if there are any solid defenses available. Possible defenses for homicide cases are self-defense, mental defect, and/or certain affirmative defenses. Time is of the essence to investigate the details of your case and start preparing a good defense.