Key Information About Car Accidents in Arkansas
Car accidents have the potential to be devastating.
But even the most minor car accident can be a deeply distressing experience. While we all try to avoid them, sometimes a car accident is inevitable. Having a basic understanding of the legal landscape surrounding car accidents can be helpful if you’re ever involved in one, whether you’re a pedestrian, passenger, or driver.
Reporting a car accident
Arkansas law mandates that a car accident must be reported if it results in injury, death, or property damage that exceeds $1,000.
If you’re involved in such an accident, be sure to promptly report it to law enforcement. You are also required to file a report with the Department of Finance and Administration (DFA).
Your police report should be included in your report to the DFA, and you must send in this report within 30 days of the incident. The only exception to this rule is if your injuries prohibit you from sending in the report within a timely fashion.
Thankfully, you can send in this report online. The form is called an SR-1 and can be found here.
Failure to report a car accident can have legal consequences. Reporting a car accident in a timely manner keeps you compliant with the law but can also serve to document details that could help in later personal injury or insurance claims.
The statute of limitations for personal injury claims
In Arkansas, individuals involved in car accidents must be aware of the statute of limitations that govern personal injury claims.
Arkansas law requires anyone who’s been injured in a car accident to file a personal injury claim within three years of the date that the accident occurred. While three years may seem like a long time, the amount of time is chosen carefully to allow for injuries that appear over time, not just those that are immediately apparent after an accident.
This timeframe underscores the importance of initiating legal action promptly, in order to preserve one’s right to seek compensation. Plus, adhering to the statute of limitations is important for a successful personal injury claim.
Compensation for car accidents: pursuing damages in Arkansas
Individuals injured in car accidents in Arkansas have the right to seek compensation for damages, including medical expenses, property damage, lost wages, and pain and suffering.
Arkansas follows a “fault” system, which means that the at-fault party and their insurance are typically responsible for covering the damages.
It’s a good idea to understand the types of compensation available, and the process for pursuing a claim, in order to secure financial protection for yourself and others in the event of an accident.
Insurance requirements in Arkansas
Arkansas law mandates that drivers carry a 25/50/25 policy at minimum– which means bodily injury liability limits of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident, and property damage liability limits of $25,000.
Understanding and meeting these requirements is a legal obligation, but it’s also necessary to financially protect yourself and others in the event of a car accident.
Legal rights after a car crash
If you’ve been involved in a car accident in Arkansas, you have legal rights that must be protected. Seeking legal counsel is highly advisable, especially when dealing with complex issues like determining fault, negotiating with insurance companies, or pursuing a personal injury claim.
Our experienced attorneys are ready to fight for your rights in the event of an accident. Reach out to schedule your consultation today.
Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) incidents have far-reaching consequences that extend well beyond the individuals involved, impacting communities on social, economic, and emotional levels. Understanding the broader effects of a DWI is helpful for implementing effective...
Driving within the state of Arkansas comes with its own set of rules and responsibilities. To ensure safe roads for everyone, it’s important to understand the state’s traffic laws and the consequences of DWI offenses in order to adopt responsible driving practices. ...
When substantial wealth is involved in the dissolution of a marriage, an already complex process becomes even more intricate. The complexities of property division in high-net-worth divorces can seem intimidating, but drawing insights from experienced professionals...